Canberra National Memorials Committee

National memorials are an important way to mark the contribution and sacrifice made by extraordinary Australians to their country and to their fellow citizens.

The Canberra National Memorials Committee (CNMC) is empowered by the National Memorials Ordinance 1928 (the Ordinance), to approve the location and character of national memorials in the ACT.

Decisions of the CNMC are made after consideration of proposals put forward by members of the community. In considering the proposals for memorials, the CNMC relies on a range of professional, administrative and stakeholder advice.

The Ordinance defines the membership and responsibilities of the CNMC. The current CNMC membership includes; the Prime Minister as Chair of the Committee, the Leader of the Government in the Senate, the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate, the Leader of the Opposition in the House of Representatives, the Secretary of the responsible Department, Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development, Mr Jamie Briggs, and the Secretary of the Department of Veterans' Affairs, Mr Ian Campbell PSM. The two positions on the CNMC, reserved for residents of the ACT, remain vacant.