• Skip to Navigation
  • Skip to Content
  • Increase size
  • Decrease size
Home About Us About Us

About the NCA Print E-mail
Article Index
About the NCA
Our Vision, Our Mission, Our Goals
Our Values, People and Service
Our Functions and Powers
Governance Arrangements
All Pages

The National Capital Authority (NCA) is established under the Australian Capital Territory (Planning and Land Management) Act 1988 (the Act).

The NCA performs a special role as the trustee of the National Capital and in this capacity serves the interests of the Australian Government, the nation and its people. The roles and responsibility of the NCA can be summarised in three broad areas:

  • planning and design of the nationally significant parts of Canberra.  Areas for which the NCA has planning responsibility include Anzac Parade, the Parliamentary Zone, Defence and security areas, the foreshores of Lake Burley Griffin and the diplomatic precinct. The NCA’s planning framework ensures that the bush capital character of the city is preserved. 
  • information and education. The NCA manages programs to inform and educate all Australians of the unique characteristics and importance of Canberra as their National Capital. The NCA manages the National Capital Exhibition (which attracts 140 000 visitors per year), travels a touring exhibition program, prepares teacher education packs linked to the National Curriculum  and is harnessing digital technologies to provide cost effective communication strategies.
  • managing the National Capital estate. The NCA manages Commonwealth assets with a combined value of $800 million on behalf of the Australian Government.  Assets managed by the NCA include Anzac Parade and its memorials, the Parliamentary Zone, the diplomatic estate (including managing leases with foreign missions), roads, bridges, Scrivener Dam and Lake Burley Griffin. The NCA is responsible for 20 listed, five nominated and two indicative places on the Commonwealth Heritage List and one nominated and two listed places on the National Heritage List.

The Authority consists of a Chair, a Chief Executive and three other members, all of whom are appointed by the Governor-General. The Chief Executive is full-time while the other four members serve on a part-time basis. The Chief Executive manages the affairs of the NCA under the general directions of the Authority and has the responsibility of a Secretary under the Financial Management and Accountability Act 1997 and as an Agency Head under the Public Service Act 1999.

The current members of the Authority are:

    • Terry Weber (Chair),
    • Malcolm Snow (Chief Executive),
    • Glenn Keys, and
    • Christine Faulks.

      Last Updated on Monday, 15 December 2014 11:05